Aaron Connolly playing for the Ireland Under 21 team against Israel last September. [Inpho/Ryan Byrne]

Duffy, Connolly recalled to squad

Shane Duffy has been recalled to Stephen Kenny’s Irish squad ahead of the games upcoming Euro 2024 qualifiers against France and The Netherlands. The Derry-born defender has been in good form since joining Norwich in the summer and he has started all four of the Canaries games as they have made a great start in the Championship. 

John Egan, Nathan Collins and Dara O’Shea, who are all playing in the Premier League, are the first-choice back three. Meantime, Seamus Coleman confirmed last week that it will be another six to eight weeks before he is fully fit, while Matt Doherty had not seen much game time since returning to Wolverhampton, he did score twice last night in the team’s EFL Cup 2nd Round 5-0 win over Blackpool.

Sign up to The Irish Echo Newsletter

Sign up today to get daily, up-to-date news and views from Irish America.

Striker Aaron Connolly has also been recalled to the senior squad in almost two years after strong early season in the Championship, scoring three goals for Hull City.

The Irish travel to Paris to play France at the Parc des Princes on Thursday of next week, and return to take on the Netherlands on the Sunday (Sept. 10).

Republic of Ireland Squad

Goalkeepers: Gavin Bazunu (Southampton), Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Mark Travers (Stoke City, on loan from AFC Bournemouth).

Defenders: Matt Doherty* (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Festy Ebosele (Udinese), Enda Stevens (Stoke City), Ryan Manning (Southampton), James McClean (Wrexham), Shane Duffy (Norwich City), John Egan (Sheffield United), Nathan Collins (Brentford), Dara O'Shea (Burnley), Darragh Lenihan (Middlesbrough)

Midfielders: Josh Cullen (Burnley), Jayson Molumby (West Bromwich Albion), Jeff Hendrick (Newcastle United), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Will Smallbone (Southampton), Jason Knight (Bristol City), Jamie McGrath (Aberdeen).

Forwards: Adam Idah (Norwich City), Will Keane (Preston North End), Evan Ferguson (Brighton and Hove Albion), Aaron Connolly (Hull City), Chiedozie Ogbene (Luton Town