Limericks cup

Limerick’s cup

Daithi Burke of Galway challenging Limerick's Aaron Gillane during the All Ireland hurling final at Croke Park on Sunday afternoon. Reigning champions Galway went into the game as favorites but Limerick emerged the victors, winning the Liam MacCarthy Cup for the first time since 1973. The Irish Echo’s correspondent P.J. Cunningham said that that year the winners had a lot of luck on their side as they faced an injury-hit Kilkenny in the final, and were badly mauled by the Cats at full strength in 1974. In 2018, however, Limerick “had to beat four powerhouses of the game – Tipperary, Cork, Kilkenny and Galway – to bridge the 45-year gap.” For his full report go the digital/print edition of today’s Irish Echo. INPHO/TOMMY DICKSON

Sign up to The Irish Echo Newsletter

Sign up today to get daily, up-to-date news and views from Irish America.