The women’s turn

Sarah Tierney of Mayo, left, and Dublin's Sinead Ahearne pictured on Tuesday at the All-Ireland Ladies Football Final Media Day at Croke Park ahead of Sunday’s All Ireland final there. Dublin believe it’s their turn having been runners-up the last three years and they can add a second title to that won in 2010. But, having ended Cork’s dreams of a seven-in-a-row in the semifinal, Mayo are hoping for a return to the glory days of 1999-2003 when they won four championships out of five.

Sign up to The Irish Echo Newsletter

Sign up today to get daily, up-to-date news and views from Irish America.