Category: Asset 3Arts & Leisure

Madden to receive 2018 O’Neill award

July 19, 2018


Joanie Madden.


Musician Joanie Madden has been announced as this year’s recipient of the Eugene O’Neill Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Irish American Writers & Artists, Inc. said Madden will receive the award at a formal ceremony held at the Manhattan Club upstairs at Rosie O’Grady’s (800 7th Ave., New York City) on Monday, Nov. 12.

The IAW&A said in a statement: “Consummate musician—performer, composer, recording artist and educator—Joanie Madden is a champion of traditional Irish music. Bronx-born to Irish parents and immersed in trad Irish music early in life, Madden excelled on the concert flute and tin whistle.

“As a driving force behind Cherish the Ladies, an all-female Irish music and dance troupe, she has performed on Grammy Award-winning albums and in acclaimed documentaries. Madden also produced the PBS/American Public Television special, ‘Cherish the Ladies: An Irish Homecoming.’ Recipient of numerous awards, including the distinguished Ellis Island Medal of Honor for exemplary service to the United States, Madden will now add IAW&A’s Eugene O’Neill Award to her honors.

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date with the latest news with The Irish Echo

“I’m thrilled to be chosen to receive the Eugene O’Neill Lifetime Achievement Award,” Madden said. “I’m humbled to receive this award from an illustrious group that I admire so much.”

Mary Pat Kelly, Vice President of the Irish American Writers & Artists, said, “As her passionate — and numerous — fans around the world can attest, Joanie Madden stands out for her tireless commitment to preserving and passing along true Irish music from one generation to the next.”

The past recipients of the Eugene O’Neill Award are: Phil Donahue (2017), Malachy McCourt (2016), Patricia Harty (2015), Pete Hamill (2014), John Patrick Shanley (2013), Judy Collins (2012), Charlotte Moore and Ciarán O’Reilly of the Irish Repertory Theatre (2011), Brian Dennehy (2010), and William Kennedy (2009).

The price of $150 per person includes a year’s membership with the organization. Tickets are available now through Eventbrite at http://2018iawaoneill.eventbrite.com/

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter