Eva oleary don stahl1 rsz

Have your say in who wins

Comedian Maeve Higgins has been nominated in the Voices of Today category.

By Irish Echo Staff

The Oscar nominations were announced yesterday, but chances are that you’re not a member of the Academy and therefore won’t have a say in who gets to go home with a golden statuette. Not so in the several categories in the IrishCentral Creativity & Arts Awards, the recipients of which will be announced on next Friday night, Feb. 9, at the American Irish Historical Society in New York.

Sign up to The Irish Echo Newsletter

Sign up today to get daily, up-to-date news and views from Irish America.

There are five voting categories – Media & Innovation, Voice of Today, The Screen, Fashion & Design and Irish Centers & Festivals – and most of which have five nominees. Judging panels will choose the winners in the Stage, Written Word and Visual Arts categories

Readers can vote for in the Media & Innovation category: Nigel Eccles, Founder FanDuel and Entrepreneur; Samantha Barry, Editor-in-Chief, Glamour; Paul Quigley, Founder & CEO of Newswhip; Dermot McCormack, Founder SNKR Inc.; and Claire McHugh, Axonista.

One can vote for any of these nominees in the Voice of Today category: Comedian Maeve Higgins; Quinnipiac University historian Christine Kinealy; New York Times columnist Maureen Dowd; Loyola University historian John Donoghue; and “craftivism” pioneer Shannon Downey.

The nominees in the Screen category are: “No Stone Unturned” by Alex Gibney; Niall McKay’s Irish Screen America; “Emerald City” by Colin Broderick; “Rocky Ros Muc” by Michael Fanning and Máire Breathnach; and “SMILF” by Frankie Shaw.

Photographer Eva O’Leary has been

nominated in the Visual Arts category.

The four nominees in the Fashion & Design category are: Don O’Neill - THEIA COUTURE; Margaret Molloy - #WearingIrish; Clodagh – Interior Design; Ciaran McGuigan and Shane McGuigan, Orior New York.

And finally, Irish American Centers and Festivals nominees are: “Coming Home: Art and the Great Hunger” - Ireland's Great Hunger Museum at Quinnipiac University; Irish American Heritage Museum, Albany; Commemoration of the 20th Anniversary Good Friday Agreement; Irish Arts & Writers Festival, Los Gatos & San Francisco, California; and The Celtic Junction Arts Center and Eoin McKiernan Library, Minnesota.

Among those in the non-voting categories are photographer Eva O’Leary “Spitting Image” series (Visual Arts), the novels “Ashes of Fiery Weather” (Kathleen Donohoe) and “Tender” (Belinda McKeon); and Origin’s 1st Irish Theatre Festival’s production of Honor Molloy’s “Crackskull Row” (Stage).

For more details about voting, go to IrishCentral.com and click on the “Culture” icon.